Skip to main content


I was just thinking how things have changed since the last time I was a new Mom.  16 years ago it didn't matter if I breast fed, circumcised my baby boy, let the baby sleep in my bed, had a c section or let him cry.
This time around, all I hear and see is "know better, do better".  And I feel like if I hear it one more time I may blow.  I get the concept, really I do, and in some ways, I agree with it.

I have my own way of doing things and it works for me.  Moms are so busy bashing each other for their choices.  Shouldn't we be supporting each other?  Being a Mommy is HARD.  It is the hardest job there is.  You are solely responsible (or feel like you are) for teaching a tiny little person how to BE.  That is a lot of pressure!

I had a C section because it was safer for me.  Now people actually apologize or pity me for having one.  I didn't push the baby out of my hooha so I am somehow less of a woman and mother.  My baby and I are both alive and healthy, so I call bull shit!

I chose not to breast feed.  People react like I am trying to kill my child because she gets a bottle of formula instead of boobie full of breast milk.  I have 2 other kids who were formula fed and they are both still alive, thank you very much!  I call bull shit!

I do not choose to let my baby cry it out (CIO for those mommy's in the know).  It is mean, and I refuse to do it.  Babies need to feel secure, and they cry for a reason.  If you were scared, wouldn't you want someone to comfort you?  People tell me she will get spoiled and grow up entitled.  I call bull shit!

I don't "baby wear".  I get enough invasions of my personal space through out the day! If you wanna wear your baby, GREAT, but I'm not less of a Mom because I don't want to! People tell me that the baby will grow up insecure.  I call bull shit!

I feed my (older) kids fast food, chips, ice cream and Halloween candy.  People tell me that organic is best, no sugar, no carbs, whole wheat everything with a side of chick peas and sea weed.  that is OK for them, really. I believe everything in moderation!  I call bull shit

I do not cloth diaper.  I can't stand the thought.  I have never even considered it. I will just do my part to harm the environment and use disposables, thank you very much!  People tell me how much better cloth is.  I call baby shit!  And lots of it!!

They say it takes a village to raise a child.  Call me the village Idiot.  I choose to make my own mistakes...and my own triumphs!



Popular posts from this blog

You're Killin' Me Smalls

Today was a complete son of a bitch of a day.  I fell asleep at 6 am.  That was my bed time for last night.  My darling little Princess of a daughter woke my up at 10:30 and my body reminded me that I have a demon living in side of me. Everyone has those days where everything you touch turns in to flaming piles of dog shit, I know.  2 PM found me throwing a literal temper tantrum in my back yard and then I came in and threw things.  A lot of them.  Rule #1 as a Lupie.  DON'T GO OFF YOUR CRAZY MEDS!   I have a date with my Cymbalta first thing tomorrow morning   tomorrow afternoon when I get up. So when did the switch over happen here between being a Princess Mommy, and a Lupus Warrior Princess?  About a year ago I was diagnosed with SLE.  This winter has been rough! I've known for over 6 years that something wasn't right with my body, it just takes finding the right Doctor and having blood work done at exactly the ri...

Conversations that we should not have to have in our daily lives

So, I was perusing Facebook yesterday morning while having my coffee like I always do (when the baby lets me) and I ran across a status by a lady in my neighborhood saying that she was approached at a stop light by someone in another car trying to get her to pull over.  They followed her on to the freeway, continuing to harass her and chase her down.  It was midnight and I am sure she was scared to death.  She said that she called 911 and they sent an officer to her location and the person took off, wrecking farther down the road. Later in the day, hubby and I went to take my teen boy to his girl friends house so that they could smooch or whatever (I don't want to know).  On the way home I brought up what I had read and we started talking about what I should do if the situation ever came up.  By what I should do, I mean what I should do after I piss my pants.   We go over the whole thing about defensive driving, hit the brake, let them pass me then bump...

Hitting the Wall...Crash & Burn

Most days I can flow along like nothings wrong, even if I'm feeling a little rough around the edges.  I can move past the brain fog, push past the aches and pains and just live   survive.  I may get a little cranky, quiet or overly perky.  It just depends on the level of what ever is going on.   Then there are the days where you're swimming along, just floating down stream and someone hits the flusher and your whirling away.  It happens fast and you can't stop it.  Things start hurting, I get so tired and my body slows down to the point that I can literally count my heart beats because I can feel it.  Heavy arms and legs, dizzy head, the works.  This is a little harder to motor through and usually where I have to SAY something out loud about how I'm feeling.   Today was one of those days.  The best I can describe is it cruising along at the speed limit and suddenly spinning out and hitting the wall.  Mos...