Skip to main content

Mom Guilt, Bank Robbery and Warm Weather

Today was one of those days in Kentucky where we are famous for our wacky weather.  It hit 60 degrees I believe, which means sinus colds all around tomorrow after being as low as single digits for the last few weeks.   
On the upside my pain was down to a dull roar.  It was one of those times where I was scared to do anything because I didn't want to jinx myself and it was Sunday so i mostly hung out on the couch all day and read trashy historical mail order bride romance novels. And think.  Lots of thinking.

It's funny the amount of things that can run through your mind on a normal Sunday.  Why is the sky blue?  Why was I born with brown eyes?  Things like that.  And...big things like, how to pull of a bank heist...you know...the usual. 

I started back on my Cymbalta today and I am preparing for the 5 days of hell as my body adjusts to it again. Today is horrible dry mouth and a bit of moodiness with little appetite.  Moving on to tomorrow which will be homicidal tendencies along with all of the above. Let's be honest, if you can make it through the first week without killing anyone, you are golden, and deserve an award.  At least an Oreo or something but the kids would smell that and want to eat it. 

As usual I am in my office while Princess Threenager is attempting to cry so she doesn't have to go to sleep, and I just returned from trip 4 in to her room.  This whole mom thing is a new world at 44, I have to say.  I was 28 when my 19 year old was her age and everything is different.  People go on "play dates" and they care if you kid is circumcised or not (if it's a boy).  Why are they thinking about your kids penis anyway? hmmm?  The first question you are asked if your child gets an illness it seems like is if they were breast or bottle fed, like that's going to answer why the kid is sick.  As if parenting ins't stressful enough you get all of this added bull shit.  
People, I am 44, not 24.  I promise, IDGAF what anyone thinks of my parenting style.  I wasn't even aware that I was supposed to have a "parenting style". 

I have complained about all of that before, I know.  But seriously y'all, I thought it would pass, but it hasn't.  It just gets worse! Moms get judged daily on everything they do.  Nothing is ever good enough in the eyes of another mom, so how are we ever supposed to think that we are good enough ourselves?
I have MASSIVE amounts of guilt that my Lupus keeps me from being the best mom that I can be to any of my kids.  I feel like shit more than half the time.  I don't feel like or can't get down in the floor or be climbed on.  It hurts.  Or I'm just too freaking tired to hold my arms up to fix my hair or brush my teeth, much less have a dance party with a pre schooler who has more energy than 10 of me.   Now I have to worry about what the other Moms are thinking or saying about all of that other stuff ON TOP of the guilt.  Perfect!






Popular posts from this blog

You're Killin' Me Smalls

Today was a complete son of a bitch of a day.  I fell asleep at 6 am.  That was my bed time for last night.  My darling little Princess of a daughter woke my up at 10:30 and my body reminded me that I have a demon living in side of me. Everyone has those days where everything you touch turns in to flaming piles of dog shit, I know.  2 PM found me throwing a literal temper tantrum in my back yard and then I came in and threw things.  A lot of them.  Rule #1 as a Lupie.  DON'T GO OFF YOUR CRAZY MEDS!   I have a date with my Cymbalta first thing tomorrow morning   tomorrow afternoon when I get up. So when did the switch over happen here between being a Princess Mommy, and a Lupus Warrior Princess?  About a year ago I was diagnosed with SLE.  This winter has been rough! I've known for over 6 years that something wasn't right with my body, it just takes finding the right Doctor and having blood work done at exactly the ri...

Conversations that we should not have to have in our daily lives

So, I was perusing Facebook yesterday morning while having my coffee like I always do (when the baby lets me) and I ran across a status by a lady in my neighborhood saying that she was approached at a stop light by someone in another car trying to get her to pull over.  They followed her on to the freeway, continuing to harass her and chase her down.  It was midnight and I am sure she was scared to death.  She said that she called 911 and they sent an officer to her location and the person took off, wrecking farther down the road. Later in the day, hubby and I went to take my teen boy to his girl friends house so that they could smooch or whatever (I don't want to know).  On the way home I brought up what I had read and we started talking about what I should do if the situation ever came up.  By what I should do, I mean what I should do after I piss my pants.   We go over the whole thing about defensive driving, hit the brake, let them pass me then bump...

Hitting the Wall...Crash & Burn

Most days I can flow along like nothings wrong, even if I'm feeling a little rough around the edges.  I can move past the brain fog, push past the aches and pains and just live   survive.  I may get a little cranky, quiet or overly perky.  It just depends on the level of what ever is going on.   Then there are the days where you're swimming along, just floating down stream and someone hits the flusher and your whirling away.  It happens fast and you can't stop it.  Things start hurting, I get so tired and my body slows down to the point that I can literally count my heart beats because I can feel it.  Heavy arms and legs, dizzy head, the works.  This is a little harder to motor through and usually where I have to SAY something out loud about how I'm feeling.   Today was one of those days.  The best I can describe is it cruising along at the speed limit and suddenly spinning out and hitting the wall.  Mos...